President appoints Akram for a new term at Elections Commission

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (R) presents Ahmed Akram (L) with his letter of appointment to Elections Commission on March 23, 2020, (Photo/President's Office)

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, on Monday, appointed Ahmed Akram, the Vice Chairman and Spokesperson of Elections Commission (EC), for a new term at the commission.

Akram had secured the backing of the Parliament for reappointment to EC with the unanimous consensus of 72 parliamentarians on March 15.

He was presented with his letter of appointment by the President this Monday.

His oath of office was administered by Supreme Court Justice Mahaz Mahaz Ali Zahir.

Followin Akram’s official reappointment to EC, the commission convened for a meeting, in which it reinstated Akram to his previous position as Vice Chairman. The vote had been unanimous.

Akram, along with three others had been on the President’s shortlist for potential candidates for EC. The others were former EC member Ahmed Fayaz, former EC legal representative Haneefa Khalid, and Ahmed Mansoor.

EC is five-member commission.


  • Ahmed Shareef, Chairman
  • Ahmed Akram, Vice Chairman
  • Fuad Thaufeeq
  • Ismail Habeeb
  • Ali Nashath