Parliament approves four appointments to MIRA board

Maldives Inland Revenue Authority (MIRA) headquarters. (File Photo/Sun/Fayaz Moosa)

The Parliament has voted in favor of appointing four individuals to the board of Maldives Inland Revenue Authority (MIRA).

The Parliament today voted on five names forwarded by the Economic Committee in order of preference. 

The names approved by the Parliament include:

  • Mumthaz Abdul Rasheed from Muringu, H. Dh. Hanimaadhoo
  • Leena Mohamed Zahir Hussain from H. Neelvilla, K. Male’
  • Hushaam Waheed from G. Male’Hiya 2, 15-03, K. Male’
  • Aishath Aasha Ali from H. Eastward, K. Male’.

Out of the names Aasha was on the bottom of the list in terms of preference. 

Out of the appointees approved, Leena and Aasha are both current members of the board. Leena currently serves as the board’s deputy chairperson.

The board of MIRA is currently comprised of Chairperson Ahmed Saruvash Adam, Deputy Chairperson Leena Mohamed Zahir Hussain, Commissioner General of Taxations Fathuhulla Jameel, and Directors Ahmed Faiz, Aishath Aasha Ali, Faseeh Zahir, and Mahuroom Saleem.