Govt. ministers captured at Anaara’s campaign, who lost primary

Government ministers accompany independent parliamentary candidate Dr. Anaara Naeem during a door-to-door campaign event. (Photo/Anaara via X)

Some government ministers have been captured in the campaign of former Makunudhoo MP Dr. Anaara Naeem who is contesting the upcoming parliamentary election as an independent candidate after her loss in the ruling PPM-PNC coalition’s primary.

Anaara is contesting for Huraa constituency in the upcoming parliamentary election.

She had unsuccessfully competed in ruling PPM-PNC coalition’s parliamentary primary held on January 27th. Citing many constituents wished for her to contest the parliamentary election nevertheless, Anaara decided to contest independently.

Anaara posted photos of a door-to-door campaign she undertook yesterday on social media platform X. In the photos, she is accompanied by Sports Minister Abdulla Rafeeu, Minister at the President’s Office Abdulla Nasir and President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu’s Criminal Justice Advisor Muhthaz Muhsin.

While the government has yet to comment on the matter – Abdulla Waris is set to contest for Huraa constituency on ruling PPM_PNC coalition’s ticket.

A total of seven candidates contested for Huraa constituency’s ticket in PPM-PNC’s primary. Anara secured 257 votes while Waris, who went on to win, secured 372 votes.

Seven candidates who lost in the ruling coalition’s primary are contesting the parliamentary election independently. Some government officials have voiced support for these candidates instead of the candidates in the election on the coalition’s ticket.