Parliament recess periods changed

Lawmakers pictured during a parliamentary sitting. (Photo/People's Majlis)

The Parliament's General Committee has changed the dates for the recess period of the parliament during the mid-sessions of the year. 

Under Parliament regulations, the sessions of the parliament are run from February 1 to the end of April.

The second session is run from June 1 to the end of August while the third and final session of the year will be held from October to the end of November. 

The amendments brought about today will change the second and third sessions of the parliament.

Now, the second session will be held from May 16 to the end of June. The third session will be held from August 16 to the end of November. 

A total of 69 MPs voted for the change. The change was to parallel the parliament recess period with the academic recess period.

Previously the academic recess period would come in the middle of the second session of the parliament.